Press24 News Live
Press24 News is Tv Channel brings live india news,top headlines,hindi breaking news (English News)Latest News from India & World for you

Padma Shri for Ekta Kapoor, Karan Johar, Kangana Ranaut and Adnan Sami


Actress Kangana Ranaut, singer Adnan Sami and director-producers Ekta Kapoor and Karan Johar have been conferred with the Padma Shri award this year.

The four celebrities have been honoured with the Padma Shri for their contribution to the field of performing arts.

Talking about being honoured with Padma Shri, Kangana Ranaut said, “I’m humbled and I’m honoured. I thank my country for this recognition and I dedicate this to every woman who dares to dream. To every daughter… to every mother… and to the dreams of women who will shape the future of our country.”

Director-producer Ekta Kapoor took to Twitter to say that she was, “humbled and overwhelmed.” Karan Johar also took to Twitter to express his emotions. “It’s not very often that I am at a loss for words, but this is one such occasion…The PadmaShri. Such an honour to receive one of the civilan awards in the country. Overwhelmed by so many emotions right now. Humbled, elated and also thankful for the opportunity to live my dream every day, to create and to entertain. I know my father would be proud and I wish he was here to share this moment with me. #blessed.”

Padma Shri is the fourth highest civilian award in India. This year 141 Padma awards are being given in the fields of art, social work, public affair, science and engineering, medicine, trade and industry, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. While the Padma Shri is awarded for distinguished service in any field, Padma Bhushan is awarded for distinguished service of high order and Padma Vibhushan is for exceptional and distinguished service.

The Padma awards are announced on Republic Day eve every year. The President of India will honour the Padma awardees at a ceremonial function which will be held at the Rashrapati Bhavan in March/April this year. Out of the 141 Padma awards this year, there are four duos. Seven people have been honoured with the Padma Vibhushan, 16 with Padma Bhushan and 118 with Padma Shri. The Padma awardees this year comprise 34 women. Twelve people including former ministers Arun Jaitley, George Fernandes, Sushma Swaraj and Manohar Parrikar have been honoured posthumously.

ALSO READ | Republic Day: Jammu and Kashmir Police gets maximum 108 gallantry medals, CRPF 76

ALSO WATCH | Brazilian President Bolsonaro accorded ceremonial reception at Rashtrapati Bhawan

Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App

How You Feel about this News,Post your comments and share the news..
(News are directly taken from Syndicate feeds,Press24 team not edited its content instead for title for more information visit source link)

Source link

قالب وردپرس

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More

Select currency
INR Indian rupee